Honda Brake Pad Ed.

Capt Slow

I'm fairly new to racing, and it has come to my attention that reliable brakes are important. ( I thought all they do is slow you down. )

So I figured there's a few of you that have been around the track a couple times and have good experiences with some or cursed other brake pads.

I drive a 1986 Prelude and looking for a general education on:

-the difference between racing brake pads and street pads (i.e.- heat ratings/ type of material / rotor wear / brake fade / expense)

-are there street pads that will perform as well?

-brands of pads preferred

- rotors ... buy cheapies and expect to throw them away every time or spare no expense.

FYI - I have been running Wagner Thermo Quiets for years and have been very happy with them. They held up well at Road Atlanta recently as well.

Thanks, Capt Slow

(I reposted this in General Q&A to see what the rest of NASA (non Honda owners) prefers)

• National Staff

Hi there!

The choice is really going to boil down to tires. If you are running a fairly sticky tire, you'll need more aggressive brake compounds than if you run on junk tires. More grip means you can use more braking power which means more heat, and thus, more aggressive brake compounds.

So, if you are running Toyo's or something better, you'll likely need something fairly aggressive that will not be good for the street. I've been partial to the Hawk Performance stuff for awhile. The DTC 60 and HT10 pads have worked quite well and I would recommend them first. Another good option would be the Hawk Blue! These however will NOT work on the street though because they do require some heat to become effective and that's generally why it's not a good idea to use a race pad on the street!