Newbie Tire Question....what do ya'll mean by HEAT CYCLES?

ulev1st

I am new to NASA and Track Days...I totally ruined a brand new tire my first event..(this can get expensisve I see!) anyway..someone asked me how many heat cycles I had on the tire...of course I gave him that "deer in the headlights look"....as I didn't have a clue what he was talking about..

Can someone explain what it is and how it helps or why it is important?

Thanks for your patience for answering a "newbie question".

Don, newbie to NASA MidSouth.

heat cycles = how many times the tire has been brought to operating temps and then allowed to cool back down

Rubber is a funny material, doubly so the stuff in performance tires, so nothing is set in stone BUT generally as a tire has more heat cycles it gets harder and has less overall grip.

The number of cycles is important, but also what kind of heat cycle it was matters a bit, as well as what car it was run on (weight, suspension design & setup, etc) and a bunch of other factors. And certain tire makes / models will drop off in grip at lower number of heat cycles than others

Confused yet?

what kind of tires are u running? if it's a street tire, you must have been pushing alot to ruin a brand new set of tires in one weekend.

basically 1 heat cycle = 1 track session.

based on posts I've seen about the event the surface at that track is unusually abrasive. That coupled with a car that might not be setup perfect, a driver that's still learning, or many other factors along those lines I could see wiping out a tire prematurely

• 2 months later...

Not to jack the OP's thread, but;

What would be a good tire for a noob on a first outing? These tires would need to transport me to and from the track, however, the car isn't used as a daily.

Thanks.

• 1 month later...

Manny, from one noob to another I can tell you what a lot of people have told me and what my experience was. This relates to the OP as well.