New to NASA/GTS

Light on Fuel

Hey Folks,

I'm new to the whole performance driving thing and have a few questions. I've already asked a few about starting out on other forums and was told about this one in particular. (I drive a German )

I'm planning on doing my first HPDE this coming Spring and although it may be way too premature at this point; I'd like to start prepping my car to one day go w2w racing. I have nothing else to do on the car this coming winter and since it's not a daily, why not start working on the car (ie-gutting interior, scraping sound deadening, etc)?

The car in question is an '01 VW GTI VR6. I already have a decent (but not great) suspension, better than stock brakes, and some power adders (yielding 213whp). I plugged my specs into that Excel file that tells what class a car should be in (mine said GTS3), but that seems a bit out of depth in terms of what the car is ultimately capable of doing (with any driver). Is this incorrect on my part? I guess what I'm getting at is this: Is this car actually worth contesting (someday) in GTS or should I just use it for my HPDE's while setting sights on something else more suitable?

In all honesty, (and maybe it's cos I'm attached to it) I would prefer to contest this car because I know that in terms of power, a turbo 12v can easily and inexpensively yield over 600whp (relatively realiably) without swapping out the internals. However, I realize that this is just one component of an entire package and one "pro" usually doesn't outweigh many "cons."

Any info/advice would be greatly appreciated.

TIA

Hi Manny, and welcome.

If you haven't already, you should probably look at the answers recently posted to a very similar question to yours, here: http://www.nasaforums.com/viewtopic.php?f=44&t=47472