Rims and tires

Palmettogasman

Hey guys I have a question about the tire and rim combo for the spec Z series. I'm new to racing so this may be a dumb question. The series calls for BFG 275/35 tires on maximum 10inch rears and 9 inch front rims. I read that the ideal rim width is 85% of tire tread width for optimal performance. (got this from some Internet site so it must be true). From my questionable math skills I calculated the following...

10 inch rim= 295 tire size

9.5 in=275

9.0in=255

8.5in=245

So, Can we use the smaller 255 up front or do 275's work on a 9.0 inch rim? I have 8.5 and 9.5 inch rims now that I could use as a rain set if I can use the 255's tires up front. I'm currently shopping for RPF1's if anyone knows a good source. The suspension kit arrived yesterday so hopefully I can solve the tire question and hit the track soon.

Hey guys I have a question about the tire and rim combo for the spec Z series. I'm new to racing so this may be a dumb question. The series calls for BFG 275/35 tires on maximum 10inch rears and 9 inch front rims. I read that the ideal rim width is 85% of tire tread width for optimal performance. (got this from some Internet site so it must be true). From my questionable math skills I calculated the following...

10 inch rim= 295 tire size

9.5 in=275

9.0in=255

8.5in=245

So, Can we use the smaller 255 up front or do 275's work on a 9.0 inch rim? I have 8.5 and 9.5 inch rims now that I could use as a rain set if I can use the 255's tires up front. I'm currently shopping for RPF1's if anyone knows a good source. The suspension kit arrived yesterday so hopefully I can solve the tire question and hit the track soon.

You can run wheels equal to or smaller than 9" front and 10" rear (i.e. 8.5" front and 9.5" rear, or 9" all around), but you can NOT run smaller than the spec 275 tires. Call or email bob for Enkeis.