Lurker- Interested in Spec Z

C.Plavan

Hey Guys I have a few questions about the Z cars, and Spec since I'm a Z Newbie.

Anyone have a list of the Parts Costs, not counting the car? I have built a few cars before, but never any Nissans.

Any year Z considered "better"? I know they have different weight limits per the motor in the rules.

How many miles are on the "Donors" that you guys are building?

What are the Z's weak points? (Trans, etc?) Any oiling issues with these motors when used on the track?

I have read after having a car, you can figure $10k in parts, not counting labor. Does this seem accurate?

Say a motor goes south, What do new ones cost?

Thanks in advance, I'm really toying with this Spec series.

• Members

The budget I am putting together is more like 20K, not including the car or labor.

I am not sure about the motor but I know I used to buy brand new transmissions from Nissan for around $1500, but don't quote me on that it has been a while.

I think it is to soon to tell about what year will be best. The HP numbers are really close so I think it is going to come down more to which chassis has the best power curve to weight ratio, not just peak number. I am building an 03 right now for a customer, and plan on building the same model year based on price of the shell.

I don't have a lot of experience with the DE motors, but the HR's and VHR's oil temps have been an issue. I plan on running the NISMO oil cooler to start but if that is not enough then I will add to that kit.

I hope to have two cars running in 2013, hope you come join the fun!

Here is a good place to get some answers... http://my350z.com/forum/autocross-road-305/

My thoughts:

I think the later model HR and VHR cars will definitely be faster...(more stock HP and Revs)

used DE engines (like I have) can be had for $1800 with 80K miles...low mileage JDM engines are a good choice as well.