Is k26/8 turbo OK in 951 for GTS2 according to this rule?

Reggie Simmons

"Exhaust system is free providing the engine meets any local noise limit requirements. On turbocharged cars, the manifold and other exhaust piping between the exit of the port on the head and the entrance to the stock turbocharger is part of the exhaust system."

I am new to PCA racing, and not a mechanic, so if this is a really dumb question, regardless of whether the reply is affirmative or negative, a reply to the question will be appreciated. My car is a stock and fully legal '87 Porsche 944 Turbo (951). I want to know whether I can legally run a K26/8 in this class. Thanks!

I can't do that big guy; I've already spent hours doing that. Re-reading a rule you don't understand is "begging the question." Why don't you read my first post? I am NOT a mechanic, new to PCA racing, and am asking a question because I have read the rules and still do not understand. If you don't know the answer don't be a s....a.. . If you do know the answer, don't be a s....a.. .

Can anyone answer the question in the spirit in which is was asked?

Yes!

NASA GTS rules have no such restrictions, and do not follow PCA rules. It's HP to weight only. Run the turbo off of a Detriot Diesel if you like.

You'd have to ask the PCA officials about their rules - which must be where you are getting the rule you are referencing. This is probably the source of confusion. Best of luck.

• Members

Reggie,

Where did you get the quote on exhaust rules from? GTS Rules don't regulate mods on exhaust as well as any other mods engine, suspension, aero... - it is strictly power to weight ratio based factoring tires, gearbox and tube frame.

To answer your question simply - you free to do whatever you wish with the exhaust.