Explorer intake retrofit to 88 Stang

jesm

My first 5.0 rebuild/upgrade approaches. Is the Explorer intake better than the stock intake? How different are the hookups on the Explorer intake vs. the stock HO setup? Will the '89 mass air computer see it like its the old setup? I am very new to ford fuel injection. (I know- throw a carb on it, right?) Thanks in advance.

The Explorer intake is better than the stock 5.0 H.O. intake and is very nearly identical internally to the '93 Cobra intake. It's been a while since I've looked into it, but if I'm remembering correctly, *I think* the differences in the early vs. late intakes had something to do with the the vacuum ports and EGR setup. But, basically yes, the Explorer intake should bolt up in place of the H.O. intake.

I can't remember what the size of the throttle body is on the Explorer vs. the '93 Cobra, but I'm pretty sure it's bigger than the H.O. unit. Which throttle body are you planning on using?

You will be fine with the MAF setup.

• 2 months later...

GT40P heads, Explorer intake, 95 Cobra cam in the speed density 88 STang now. Looks great, and the hood actually closed. Problem is it starts and idles fine, but if you gas it, it backfires out and won't restart. The distributor doesn't have a spout connector port- it's blanked off with a plug and a screw. It also won't go down the last 1/16" inch into the motor. There is a connector with one wire that looks like a spout connector right there and disconnected. Not sure how to set the base timing if there is no spout to disconnect. Could it be the wrong distributor? Could there be issues with distributor height and the Explorer intake? Will the 95 Cobra cam be compatible with the 88 SD computer? The suspense is killing me, because both my legs are injured and I can't work on it. Any way to ID the distributor? What are the minimal vaccuum hookups?