Looking to setup my subaru for HDPE

LearningCurves

I own a 2001 Subaru Impreza 2.5Rs that I am currently trying to setup for my first HDPE event at Mid-Ohio in April...

my current setup is as follows: Stoptech slotted rotors with braided steel lines, Axxis Ultimate Pads, Kyb GR-2 struts with Group-N hardened strut tops and Sprint Springs, WRX rear sway bar... I need tires, I am thinking of running Toyo T1R as a track/street tire on stock 16" wheels, the stock sized tires are 205/55/16, I am thinking it might be a good idea to go to a 225/45/16...

I guess my question would be am I heading in the right direction for a decent trackable car? and what areas of my current setup am I going to be weak on the track? I know coilovers would be the best route to go on the car, but that is well out of my reach at the moment...

I am new to this so I am trying to figure out what would be my best route to take to get it ready...

I know Subarus fairly well, but you may want to contact Bill Knose at I-Speed USA. They've set up several RS cars before. http://www.i-speed.us/home/

I can tell you that the Ultimate is a good pad, but we only use it for the rear. Look into some Carbotech or Hawks. As far as street/track tires go, I'd say the best there is if you look at overall cost and grip is the Falken Azenis.

GR-2s are a bit weak; perhaps you'd like to step up one rung to AGXs. That would be a cheap solution until you're ready for coilovers. Or you could get the AGXs and do a Ground Control coilover kit with them. Not sure about whether they make them for your car, but most likely they do.

Hope that helps a little bit.

I tracked my street STi all last year with ATE fluid, Hawk HP+ and some Stoptech lines. Sounds like you have a pretty good setup now. If I were still tracking that car the next investment I would have made were an Autopower bar, seats/harnesses.