clutch release into gear when slowing

spazegun2213

Alright, so after reading a few threads here, I have learned a lot, like only bliping the throttle once and selecting the gear you need and NOT going though all the gears. I tryed it, and its a little strange at first, but i think it works just fine.

So my question is, when you are letting the clutch out (after you have the gear selected) I try to engage it smoothly, and not drop it. Is this right?

thanks!

If you match your revs correctly you can let it out as fast as you want. The goal being to have the flywheel turning as fast as the clutch will be turning for that speed in that gear.

You really want to be fairly quick about it, but be smooth! When you are threshold braking, you really don't want to do anything that upsets the car, as you are already using just about all available grip.

I've been doing it for about 3-4 years now, and I don't do it the same way everytime. depending on how well the blip goes, i adjust how fast i let out the clutch. Sometimes, I can just hear the rpms are right, and just dump the clutch, other times i let out slower for a slightly off blip. just practice on the street as much as you can (i do it all the time without even thinking about it now) and you'll just naturally develop it to instinct.

I've been doing it for about 3-4 years now, and I don't do it the same way everytime. depending on how well the blip goes, i adjust how fast i let out the clutch. Sometimes, I can just hear the rpms are right, and just dump the clutch, other times i let out slower for a slightly off blip. just practice on the street as much as you can (i do it all the time without even thinking about it now) and you'll just naturally develop it to instinct.