Racing Simulation

Huhwha

I am just getting started in this and hope to get to my first event at Mid-Ohio in July.

Just wondering, does anybody use racing simulators to at least learn new tracks and get some "seat time"? I'm talking about real simulators like rFactor (http://www.rfactor.net), Nascar Racing 2003, etc., not the arcade stuff. I have been running these things for years (and years and years my wife would say) and find them to be very credible.

I've been running simulation laps at Mid-Ohio in the hopes of becoming very familiar with the track (and finding a better line through Thunder Valley!) Just wanted some opinions.

Thanks

They can be a great aid, but it depends on two things: the accuracy of the track map and the accuracy of the physics model of the simulator program. Arcade stuff is usually (not always) games, more oriented toward making it "fun" rather than accurately reproducing the track or, especially, the physics of racing. For an example, there's an old PC sim called "Sports Car GT". It has Road Atlanta as one of its tracks. Most of the track is pretty accurate, but from turn two through turn five is a joke. So you can learn the track, but T2-T5 is going to be very different when you get out there "for real".

Great concept! My son was a big PS2 junkie and got GT2/3 before we went to Laguna Seca. He was trash talking all the time about how he was going to smoke his dad et al . . . blah blah.

Well the game is pretty accurate and served to familiarize him with the basic layout. It did not improve his ontrack times that much.

However, after our sessions his time on the game was lowered by 3-4 seconds . . . heh heh heh.

MD out

However, after our sessions his time on the game was lowered by 3-4 seconds . . . heh heh heh.