Group 1 or 2

dsbetgeorge1

Hello all.

I'm new to HPDE but not new to driving on the track. I have had several events on track and approx 10 AutoX events. This includes a driving school at Thunderhill. I want to sign up for HPDE but wish to start with group 2.

Will I have any problems if I simply sign up for Group 2? The fact is, many outings only allow group 2-4 so it would allow me to get on the track faster. I assure you, I can handle it. I just want to confirm it would be okay before signing up.

BTW, I'd like to go to Thunderhill on August 12th.

TIA.

• 1 month later...
Greg,

Thanks again for your response. I got all the help I needed.

Dan

If you are willing to share ... what was the outcome?

Did you start in 2 or ???

How did it go?

I did a 2-day HPDE1 last weekend and, based on evaluations and my own "feel" I might request HPDE2 next outing (prolly next year)

I assume I will have to work with the local region, but I'm interested in National or cross-region standards and guidelines in this area (more on that later).

TIA

Greg,

Thanks again for your response. I got all the help I needed.

Dan

If you are willing to share ... what was the outcome?

Did you start in 2 or ???

How did it go?

I did a 2-day HPDE1 last weekend and, based on evaluations and my own "feel" I might request HPDE2 next outing (prolly next year)

I assume I will have to work with the local region, but I'm interested in National or cross-region standards and guidelines in this area (more on that later).

TIA

NP. I did run out there. I had no problems running with group 2. I was expecting some issue, sometime. However, it was never a question at all!

I was also allowed to have a passenger. He paid $5 and strapped on his helmet. That was it!

It was lots of fun to say the least. There was quite a few cars out there. Seemed like 35-40 vehicles. However, not that many traffic problems because of the long track (3 miles) and the fact that most of them were group 2.