Insurance/Flood vehicles. . .

wolke9

Has anybody used/considered using insurance claim and/or total loss vehicles as a good way to get started in racing? I'm not sure if the Flood and Salvage vehicles would be worth the money if you are just going to use the vehicle for racing.

Newb here and I am looking at getting involved in NASA for as little $$ as possible. If it isn't possible, I guess I'll have to wait till I'm older and have more $$.

Any thoughts??

This is one area where I've got some experience I bought a 93 RX7 with what I thought had a flood "title" and a blown motor as a donor to do an LS1/T56 swap. When I bought the car, I didn't read the fine print which basically stated that the title had been revoked and it was issued a "Certificate of Destruction" when in a flood in Florida. After 4 trips to the courthouse, 2 police inspections and 5 or 6 trips to the BMV, I was able to get it titled as an "assembled vehicle." With a certificate of destruction, the VIN can't be reused, but parts off the car can. So I basically used the chassis and suspension as parts and assembled the rest of it and slapped on a new Indiana Stave VIN. If it's strictly going to be a track car, then all this is a moot point, but may be of interest for some. In the end, it was a good setup for me. I took a car that only could have been crushed, and let it live to roll another day .

One good thing about the car I picked up was that it was a fresh water flood. No rust, and all of the electronics still worked. I'd avoid a salt water flood like the plague (probably a lot out there with Katrina), especially if I want something I can feel safe driving at speed.