Engine Blocks

IGZOSTD

Greg , Im new to NASA, this being my first season and now moving on to TT. I got interested in Nasa about 5 yrs. ago and bought a race car from my dad . After having some engine troubles I chose to build a reliable bottom end so I went with an aftermarket block . I have built this car to run in TTC. I have spent 4 yrs. and a lot of cash to conform to TTC and now we have new rules concerning blocks . These engine blocks only build more power in the Blown , Turbo or NOs applacation.

Yes they are more reliable , this is why I went with this style block , and for the greater number of rebuilds this affords .

I also will be running a new car as a backup , but this is barely competitive for the class .

I understand that some of the rules need more clairifacation , as in the camber & castor plate issue and shocks . But this is a very large blow to me ,let alone my wallet . This would put my 66 Mustang in the TTA or TTU class , meaning a new shock and brake package , wider rims and tires , fender flairs , $$$$$$$$$ ,not to include bringing the 06 Mustang up to some sort of competitive level as a back up , $$$$$$$$ . and I just started .

IGZOSTD,

I too drive a '66 Mustang and have asked Greg the same question regarding aftermarket blocks....... such as Dart. I agree that the main advantage is simply reliability, although that could be debated as the Dart block can be purchased with smaller mains, allowing higher rev's. Nevertheless, that would be addressed in other areas of the rules under balancing and blue printing. We'll just have to wait on his decision as I'm sure the new rules for 2007 will have MANY changes.

Let me know if you have any questions about classifying your old beast. I may be of help.

BTW.... Don't forget to take the +12 mod points for "Relocation of Suspension Mounting Points" if you have lowered your upper control arms. (i.e., the "Shelby Drop")

Regards,

John

• National Staff