Audi 4KQ Build for GTS4: build update-cage done

timmmy

Hi All,

I would like to formally introduce myself and my project. My name is Haydn, but Timmmy will work fine too. I have been racing vehicles most of my life, starting in motocross, then forest rally, followed by a lot of superbike and more recently I took up road racing after realizing I dont bounce quote as well as I used to

I have been running a Miata in time trial for about 9 years, and have been instructing with various clubs for about 4 total (COMSCC, BMW, AUDI).

I have also been building special vehicles for a long time, for myself to race and for the film industry to break. My most recent project was suppose dot be a quick build as a TT instructor vehicle to replace the MIata. It turned into a bigger project and I recently decided that given the amount of work I have into it , it would be a shame not to actually race it.

The car is a 1986 Audi 4000 Quattro. It was converted in 1988 by 4 Star racing and the Sprongle Brothers into a rally car, and it then spent the next 10 years being beaten to death. I first saw the car in a very sad state about 8 years ago in the yard of Force 5 Auto in Concord NH, it subsequently began a rebuild by a friend of mine, who ran out of patience and $$, at which point I picked it up to do a quick build as a training vehicle.

Well that was last April, and since then it has seen a lot of hours in the shop. I am hoping to have it done by this April, or at least done enough to take it to the track to shake it down.

The thing is a major Frankenproject combining the original shell with a new floor, firewall and cage; along with the engine and trans from a 2005 Audi S4 V8.

I hope to be doing the NASA licencing school in April, however pressures at work and lack of funds may push that back a little.

At some point you will see it at some NE and MA events!