Autopower Cages....

mcmmotorsports1548534724

How many of you are using the Autopower Bolt in Cages?

After reading the CCR rules, this is probably the only option for me since all of the race car shops within 100 miles don't use Mandrel benders.

Any other ideas or cages available?

I've got the AutoPower cage in my SN95. I think it is really lacking when compared to a well built roll cage - especially in the door bar section. I'll probably try and finish out 2006 with it and then get a custom cage done over the winter.

Just my opinion/perception.

I'm no structural engineer so I can't give you an answer that means anything, but once you've seen the AutoPower cage you'd probably come to a similar conclusion: No.

The bolt-in cage is just that, bolt in. But it hardly provides any firm mounting points for additional welded bars and my ignorant opinion leads me to beleive you'd be wasting your time/effort/money. Others here could probably give a better more meaningful answer.

I'm going to swallow the expense and get a cage built, if nothing else it makes me "feel" safer. I have a good one in my AI car and looking around at the bolt in cage in my CMC car doesn't give me that same warm fuzzy that I'll be protected should I take someone's grille in the drivers door. YMMV.

Thanks for the input, I am putting the feelers out there to see if I can find some DOM Mandrel kits that I can weld in myself.

• Members

I know some guys have gotten custom cage bars bent and shipped to them and then a local shop welded it together. Wolfe Race Craft, I believe, is the name of the shop. Do some searching either here or at www.frrax.com and I'm sure you'll find some threads about that. I'm kind of shocked that you're in NC and cant find a shop that does cages for roundy round cars