Considering the car for TTE and PTE

banderaz

Hello Everyone,

I am in the market for a track car to run through HPDE's => TTE => PTE and was hoping I could get some suggestions and recommendations here. I'm looking for something fairly new 2002-2006 and fairly cheap ~$5000. Another requirement is reliability, low running costs and minimum level of modifications required to make the car competitive. I want something that's fairly good out of the box, so I can just slap on nice R-comps for most of my points and have a capable front runner. I'm not a mechanic so I have to pay a fortune for most of the modifications and its another reason I don't want cars from the last decade, no matter how good they are they will need more maintenance than I want to deal with.

So far it looks like the following options fit my budget nicely. Please let me know if some would suit my needs better than others or if I should stay away from certain models.

2002-2004 Focus SVT

2003-2005 Focus 2.3l (Might be a bit underpowered)

2005-2007 Cobalt SS S/C (It's a bit out of my budget, but I might score an ugly but functional one on Salvage auction)

2002-2006 Sentra SE-R

2001-2004 Civic SI

Anyone had any luck with Tiburons? I know its a Hyundai, but its dirt cheap and seems to make fairly decent HP.

• Replies 64
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• banderaz

• kbrew8991

• awdracer

• smokinjoe

I'd pick up an already built car if I could... but barring that maybe picking up someone's aged-out SCCA Showroom Stock racecar could be another route

Why the aversion to anything prior to 2002? There are plenty of solid cars that are older, its more about what the car was designed for, how it was used in its prior life, and factors like that than how old/young it is.

Picking up a pre-built car is an option, but I would want the car to be:

1) Street-able to drive to and from track.

2) Slowly modify car myself to experience how certain modifications affect it's dynamics.